sleepover

I must really be crazy.  I agreed to let my daughters have a sleepover last night.  Six 10 year old girls, can you imagine?  So far, all has gone well.  Cooking has been the hardest part, but that wouldn’t have been so hard if my one year old and seven month old had not gotten cranky in the middle of my cooking dinner.  That so far has been the hardest.  This morning my dear husband cooked breakfast and I only helped with getting everything together.  It really has not been as hard as I imagined it would be.  After all, here I am blogging while they are all still here.

The girls started arriving shortly after school let out yesterday.  I had fruit and veggies waiting on them for an after school snack.  Strawberries, pineapple, kiwi, broccoli, carrots, and ranch.  Some chips to balance it all out.  Then we had spaghetti for dinner with side salads.  It was some of the best spaghetti I have made in a long time.  In the middle of my cooking dinner my one year old, Elizabeth become extremely whiney and just wanted me to hold her.  Nothing would please her except for me to carry her around.  Trying to make dinner was almost impossible because of holding her and trying to cook with one hand.  Every time I put her down she screamed.  I can’t stand the screaming so I pick her up.  I finally get dinner on the table and then my seven month old Caroline demands to be fed.  She starts screaming.  I think all the crying was starting to upset all the girls.  It was mass chaos for about an hour.  Not something I want to repeat.

This morning we had a fruit tray with blueberries, bananas, strawberries, pineapple, and chocolate chips to balance in all out.  We had pancakes, eggs and sausage.  It was soooo yummy.  And my dh cooked while I organized.  The girls have been great.  They have been girls, but they have been great.  One has already had to go home.  I wish she could have stayed.

The girls all stayed up until three a.m. giggling.  I can only imagine the crankiness that will follow later on today.   Wish me luck.

About Holly D Russell

mom of four wonderful girls mom of faith

Posted on February 6, 2010, in Children. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

