We are Light

Worldwide, there are many different religions and belief systems.  Oddly, we use the differences in these beliefs to set ourselves apart from other sects of humanity.  Yet, when we come down to it, much of our beliefs worldwide have the same basic beliefs: Be good to others;  There is a higher power; Love each other; value life.

Oddly, most Psychologist would embrace these same thoughts and beliefs for ones well being and happiness.  Those who are spiritual in nature as opposed to religious would also agree to these things.  Dr. Wayne Dyer is wonderful in his books on spirituality in bringing in beliefs from all around the globe to support how to be happy.  I have read several of his books and have been amazed at how Dr. Dyer is so knowledgeable in regards to thoughts worldwide.

Recently, my husband brought me home a book he had purchased for me titled The Four Agreements: A Toltec Wisdom Book by don Miguel Ruiz.  In reading this man’s spiritual wisdom, I can not help but be stunned by how biblically based it seems to be, although it is from a place far away.  His thoughts sound something like a sermon which could easily be backed up scripturally.

The first thing that Miguel Ruiz speaks of in his introduction is who we are in relationship to God.  How we are God-like and made in his image of light.  That we are light because God is of light.  I was amazed at the parallels to the creation story this has.

It has been quite the challenge for me to believe that I am one made of light.  That I am made in the image of God, and therefore God-like.  I have spent the majority of my life trying to be good enough, only in recent years to realize that I am His, regardless.  Not only am I spawned out of the image of God, but God has a purpose for me, even if that purpose is simply to praise His name.  But no, it is more, I am to bear light to others, and be a light-bearer to others.

There we go with those images of light again.

But Miguel, in his book, says that, “Everything in existence is a manifestation of the one Living Being we call God.  Everything is God.  . . .and the true us is pure love, pure light.”

It makes sense.  If we are of God and God is light, then we have to have that light within us as well.  The problem is that I don’t think we allow that light to shine though because of the human condition.  We are tired, or sick, or we have been rejected or ridiculed too many times to risk showing our light one more time.

The following chapters of The Four Agreements seem to promise how to overcome these obstacles.  I will get back to you on that.

About Holly D Russell

mom of four wonderful girls mom of faith

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Beauty, living life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

