Leadership and Security

On Facebook, there has been political bashing taken to a whole new social media extreme since we are about to have elections here in the U.S.  Jokingly, there has been a Facebook picture which states, “I desperately need a hide all political posts button so that I can still like my friends after the election.”  The topics are hot and controversy is heated.

At my church we are choosing who to continue on in leading our congregation.  So many choices for leaders.  I don’t know what to do, so I pray about it.  I pray for our leaders who will lead our nation.  I pray for the leaders of our churches.  I pray for Christianity  to be whole and not divided.

Everything is divided.  Then hurricane Sandy hits and both political candidates shuffle their campaign schedule to see how they can help.  Churches stop fussing over the color of the draperies and start loading up trucks of supplies to help in the aftermath of the massive storm.  We focus on being united and helping those who have been struck by tragedy.  That is what it is all about isn’t it?  The differences lay on how to go about it.

hmmmm

During a recent meteor shower my daughters and I lay bundled up in sleeping bags and hats.  We stared up and the vast dark sky which stretches out into infinity.  We stared up into the vastness of a Creator who is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow.

In all of our squabbles I think we forget that.  No matter who is elected, God is still God.  Jesus is still my Savior.  No matter what storm should hit, God is still God, and Jesus is my Savior.  Our nation could collapse, and God will still be God.  He is my constant.  He is the one thing in my life I can truly rely on.  Everything else in this world is fallible; but not God.

It is so easy to put our faith in something like our economy or our leadership.  In doing so, we risk placing our security in a place that is not secure.  We risk crashing with the storm and the aftermath.

And so, even during the storm I will praise His name.

About Holly D Russell

mom of four wonderful girls mom of faith

Posted on October 29, 2012, in God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

