Simple Blessings

Mornings.  I have a love-hate relationship with them.  On one hand a hate pulling myself out of bed when I would love to sleep another five hours, (have I mentioned that I am a tired mommy?)  On the other hand, there is nothing like the predawn stillness of a quiet house to help begin the day with gladness.

I was able to pull myself out of bed at 5:30 a couple of days ago intent on doing some writing and meditating.  Started coffee, and while it was making got sucked into Facebook.

Even so, Jesus was standing at the dawn of the day and peace was upon me.  I did eventually get out of Facebook and read my Bible and had just settled into praying when one of my daughters came in and plopped down on the couch.  Usually I begrudge this interruption on my morning quiet time.  But this morning was different.  I was at peace.  I was calm.  I looked at my daughter who was yawning and thanked God for entrusting me with the souls of these precious ones as they grow.

Little yawns; sleepy eyes; sweet morning cuddles.

Most days do not start out like this.  Most days start out with my youngest daughters whining at me to get up before I even open my eyes.  They start my day by screaming for juice.  Not pleasant and I wake up frazzled. Right now as I type, I have had a daughter whining off and on throughout this post.  I tend to the interruption and then try to type another line.  It is irritating that I can’t get anything done.  But little cries mean I am blessed with my precious daughter who’s curly hair tickles my nose

when she sits in my lap.

Outside it is turning cold, and the sun’s rays are not as intense as they once were.  The light is perfect to show off the magnificent array of fall colors.  I look through the window and marvel at the beauty.  Simple pleasures; simple blessings.

I wish I could be at peace like I am in this moment all of the time.  But the truth is I get frazzled.  Last night my husband was fretting over some pending decisions which need to be made.  I simply said, “God’s got it.”   I don’t know if the things that we are hoping for will come to fruition.  I have learned through time that some things are just stepping stones to greater things.  Sometimes the path we need to take in order to get to the destination is not the path we see in front of us.  While we can only see what is in front of us, God sees the infinite possibilities that are before us.

Until I get to my final destination I am going to try to enjoy the ride and enjoy the simple blessings of life.

What are your simple blessing that you take pleasure in amid the chaos? Share with us.

 

About Holly D Russell

mom of four wonderful girls mom of faith

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Beauty, Blessings, God, overcoming, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Holly, your lovely post made me smile so hard that my face hurts! Thanks, I needed that.

  2. Peanutbutter

  3. The merlot I’m drinking right now. The wonderful post my friend Holly put on her blog. The anticipation of posting on my own blog in a few minutes, and my work as a maid man. Life is good.

  4. Wow. What a post on your blog! Thank you for the link and thanks for sharing.

  1. Pingback: Good Medicine

Leave a Reply

