Divine Intervention

I was driving home from a friend’s house at 1 a.m.  The streets were dark and quiet.  My stomach hurt in a way that was familiar to me, yet not welcomed.  I got off the interstate, yielding right through a stop sign.  A wave of hot sweats came over me.   “Gotta make it home. Just another mile.”  I thought.  Then my ears started ringing and began to get uncontrollably sleepy.

“Not now!”  I yelled within my thoughts. Yet, the urge was so great within me, I could not resist.  I was fainting at the wheel of my car, while driving, and I couldn’t stop it.  My sight began to go.  I didn’t have time to even put the car in a parked position.  I pressed the brake and fought to stay conscious enough to keep pressure on the brake petal.  I awoke to a car going around me and honking its horn.  I was in the middle of the street.  I hadn’t rolled very far.  I wasn’t out but probably a minute or so, but I was drenched in sweat from the episode.  It had hit me hard.

Later a thought hit me equally as hard.  “I had just gotten off the interstate.  What if that had happened 30 seconds prior to when it did?” The thought was more than unsettling.  I couldn’t shake the possibility of that scenario.  I had the best possible outcome.  I fainted at the wheel at a time when I was going slowly, and was able to easily come to a stop.

I wanted so badly to believe God’s hand was in this.  That He had saved me and orchestrated the whole thing.  The timing was perfect.  I was safe.  Rattled, but safe.  But at the time, I couldn’t believe anything more than I was safe.  I didn’t understand why.   I didn’t understand anything beyond the science of it.

I wanted to believe that God knew who I was and that I was in trouble.  I wanted to believe that it was a God moment.  But who was I that God would know me at such a moment?

But how else can I explain such a thing?  When I looked in my Bible I could see God bringing a nation to himself through events.  God’s hand was on that of King David’s life, but me?  No, I wasn’t like that.  I couldn’t put myself in the same ranks as God’s chosen ones.

The truth is that God loves each and every one of us to the extent that He anointed Jesus to come to be the Savior of the world.  Each of us.  Each soul is precious to God.  “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb.”  Jer. 1:4.  God knows each of us individually.  He knew us before we were born;  He knows us after we are born.  God is involved in the details of your life.  It is not just a y’all mentality or that you are one of the herd.  He knows each intricate thing about you.

When you knit something, you know each loop, each stitch.  You know where the stitches are loose and where they are tight.  Even if you try to replicate the same thing, it will not be exactly alike.  God knit you together by hand.  He knows each detail about you.

God is involved in the details of your life, not just those of humanity in general.  To not believe that is to dismiss the omnipotent power of God.  To believe that you are unknown is to dismiss God’s love.

God was there with me that day in the car.  I didn’t believe it at the time.  I was one who was unknown at the time.  I haven’t done anything since then to change my status with God except accept the relationship He offers me.  There have been other divine coincidences in my life that I can’t go into in this post.  I can choose to believe that they are God’s hand involved in my life or not.  The choice is mine.  I can chalk it up to mere coincidence, or Divine intervention.  I choose Divine intervention.

What about you?  Where do you stand on this?  Do you believe there was a time where God orchestrated divine intervention on your behalf?  

About Holly D Russell

mom of four wonderful girls mom of faith

Posted on February 12, 2013, in God, overcoming, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

