Equipping the Called

I struggle with feeling like God can use me for his Glory or to minister to others.  I feel that I am too imperfect, I am deeply flawed.  Not just broken, but I’ve been shattered.  I take solace in knowing that some of the most prominent Bible characters were deeply stained.  David, had an affair with Bethsheba.  Tamar pretended to be a prostitute. Moses murdered a man, and Paul had many Christians murdered during the early church before his conversion.

In the last couple of blogs, I spoke of my fear of rejection.  It is often that fear that keeps me from speaking up.  I am going to share with you a couple of things that I need to take to heart:

I am reading The Signature of Jesus by Brennan Manning.  Love his books.  He has an excerpt from the book Toxic Faith:

Many fail to receive the blessings that come from ministering to others because of the belief that God uses only the perfect or the near perfect. . . .In my life as well as in Scripture I have seen nothing but the opposite to be true.  God often uses those who have major flaws or who have been through a great deal of pain to accomplish many vital tasks for his kingdom. . . . No one is too messed up for God to use.

Just remember, God does not call the equipped, He equips the called.

About Holly D Russell

mom of four wonderful girls mom of faith

Posted on May 13, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. cathyhorning

    Such a good reminder, Holly! Thank you! ❤

Leave a Reply

